Have you found your purpose?

I’ve always heard that every person on earth was made with a purpose meant for their life. The issue comes when You are trying to figure out what that purpose is. Is your purpose the job that makes your bank account happy or is your purpose what makes your heart and soul happy. What are your thoughts?

I grew up from age 3 in a dance studio. As I realized that this was something that I not only was good at, it also fed my soul. For many years I was over the moon in love with that job.

My goal at the dance studio once I became co director was to do more than teach dance. Every studio does that. My goal was to form a dance family. To form bonds with my students so when they had no one else to turn to, they knew I would be there for them no matter what. I had students confide in me of sexually assault- students I suspected of anorexia and worked with the family to get her help. I’ve also taken Students into my home when they were being beaten by their parents. I had the privilege of having these students on average from age 3 to 18. So I watched them grow into strong women. What a gift I was able to be a part of.

Yet the time came when I felt that I needed a new passion. The only thing I loved more than dance was animals. So in 2015 I began my journey into the veterinary field.

I love my job. Dr Sue took a chance on me and I will always be grateful. I realize sometimes because of all the stress with covid and just the growth that we are experiencing that I forget what drew me to this job.

Sometimes you just have to take a minute and go cuddle with a puppy. It warms your heart.

My struggle personally right now is facing the reality that I will never form the bonds I had at the dance studio. I had that job for 28 years so it’s all I knew. I’m not sure what I was expecting but I have accepted the fact that it’s not what I was hoping for. And that’s ok. Its not wrong or right. It just is what it is. I am a person that feels deeply, cares strongly and will stand up for any of my team who has the need. It’s just the mother hen in me and I won’t apologize for it.

I realize now I had some unrealistic expectations and that’s on me. I accept the fact that I was naive and I’ve learned from this and I have moved on. I was struggling for a bit but I have to make things make sense in my head before they make sense in my heart. And now both are in agreement.

I won’t apologize anymore for who I am. I feel deeply and that goes with all emotions. When I screw up, I apologize and own that. I wish more people realized how healing thats is. The main thing I have figured out today is I no longer value or care for other peoples opinions when they have shown Me that they don’t care about me or my feelings. I will not waste time on people who do not value me. I have a family and friends who love me flawed and all. I don’t need everyone’s approval. And I have nothing to prove or defend myself to someone who cannot do the same. That is my lesson for the day.

So in closing, be true to yourself. Stand up for yourself and don’t let someone else who doesn’t value you make you feel unworthy.

“Other people’s opinions are none of your business.” Rachel Hollis

EMP

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started